Different ways on how to be notified whenever I post a new blog

I have been receiving a lot of questions regarding the content of my blog site. Some were asking how they’ll be notified whenever I update or publish a new blog. All you need to do is subscribe to my blog site and I’m posting this article to educate and give you an idea on how to do it. There are several ways so I’ll discuss it to you one by one, let’s start!

Option 1: Subscribe through e-mail

– This is one of the easiest option that is available to you for as long as you have an active e-mail address then you’re good to go. All you need to do is to look for the e-mail subscription button on the right side bar of my blog site which is directly below the Translate this Page box and click on the SIGN ME UP! button. The process is easy, you only have to enter your e-mail address and verify the service in your email afterwards and that’s it you’ll be receiving a notification every time I post a new blog.

Another way of subscribing through email is by ticking the box at the lower portion of the Comments section (seen at the bottom of every post) that says Subscribe by email to this site. If you want to know whether another person posted a comment or reply to your comment, just tick the box above subscribe to email option. Please see the screen shot for proper guidance.

Option 2: Subscribe to the RSS Feed of the site

– I have to admit that when I started this blog site, I didn’t have any idea what an RSS feed meant. It is through researching that I found out what it is. RSS means Really Simple Syndication and is a family of web feed formats used to publish frequently updated works—such as blog entries, news headlines, audio, and video—in a standardized format. An RSS document (which is called a “feed”, “web feed”, or “channel”) includes full or summarized text, plus metadata such as publishing dates and authorship.

The RSS Logo

They benefit readers who want to subscribe to timely updates from favored websites or to aggregate feeds from many sites into one place. RSS feeds can be read using software called an “RSS reader“, “feed reader”, or “aggregator”, which can be web-based, desktop-based, or mobile-device-based. A standardized XML file format allows the information to be published once and viewed by many different programs.

How To Subscribe to WordPress Blogs:

Subscribing to a feed is very easy and only requires a feed reader. Most browsers can already read feeds, as can many email clients. In addition, you can download special desktop clients for this purpose, and other websites even provide feed reading services, as well.

If prompted to enter an address for a feed you should enter the URL of the website you wish to follow. Most readers will automatically detect the feed, but, if in doubt, add /feed/ to the end of the URL. As for my site’s feed URL use the following: https://welcometohappysworld.wordpress.com/feed/

A good (and free) web-based feed reader is Google Reader. You would subscribe to a feed using Google Reader as follows:

Google reader

The reader that you use, however, in entirely your call, and the process of subscribing will be different for each. Click here for a list of feed readers that you can use.

Types of Feeds:

There are several different types of feeds – there is RSS .92, RSS 2.0, Atom .3, Atom 1. Does it matter? To us – not really, although someone who has a technical interest in feeds may state otherwise. But if you are the average user, don’t worry about it.

If you do wish to use an Atom feed you can do so by appending /atom/ to the end of your feed address:

http://en.blog.wordpress.com/feed/atom/

[Source: WordPress Support Page]

How to set-up RSS on Android: Please click the link http://goo.gl/SfIbj

How to set-up RSS on iPhone and iPod Touch: Please click the link http://goo.gl/Ak9vR

How to set-up RSS on your PC desktop using Google Reader: Please click here http://goo.gl/Ceaih

Option 3: Follow me on Twitter

– Another easy way of getting notifications from my site. If you have a Twitter account, all you need to do is follow me @2happysworld2 (I’m online 24/7) and once I have approved of your request then you not only start receiving notifications of new posts from my site but also the latest entertainment and music news from Korea and the United States. You can also tweet me of the topics I’ll be posting on my site. Sounds great right? So hurry and follow me on Twitter!

There you go! Hope this helps you and answer all your questions and should you encounter any problems, don’t hesitate to contact me so I’ll know what’s not working on my site. Thanks and hope to hear from you guys!

Leave a Reply

